Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

problem with d/l of Nero 6 Clean Tool?


  • Please log in to reply

#31
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
Hi Keith, I don't believe this now I get the error message on this same error message on this site.

All I have done since the d/l of your uploaded Link yesterday for the Clean Tool 6 is:

1. Finally Remove Nero 6 and yet there are fragments 20+ according to the Reg Supreme cleaner results.

2. Cleaned out the Prefetch files per your instructions.

3. Performed a Disk Clean up

4. Cleaned out the Temp Files

5. Performed a System Defrag

And I had to remove my Advanced System Optimizer program as Nero seemed to be conflicting with it, there was never a problem when I had the original OEM version that came with my BenQ 162I external burner, however the problems with the Advanced System Optimizer which is on startup seemed to be off and on with the update of Nero 6.6.o.18 which was considered the most stable version. It is the version after the Link that you sent me which ended in .14, that version apparently was buggy.

I really appreciate your time and efforts with me and now if I have to do a d/l of the Tune Up, as I mentioned I don't know if the steps I outlined above is the proper way to have them included in my reply to this forum site.

Best Regards, with Cudos!!!

Edited by newbie geek, 02 November 2006 - 01:15 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#32
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
You cannot download from the link in post 30?

With tune up, just post the number of errors for each section
  • 0

#33
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
No, I can't...bizarro and I could yesterday before i did all of what is in my itemized list!! :blink:

So I am now going to d/l the trial version of Tune Up and give it a go and post back here.

Best Regards. This is not me >> :whistling: Just have to add a little humour into this catastropic extravaganza of events otherwise life is not worthwhile!!!
That has always been my outlook!!
  • 0

#34
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
See what tune up finds

Do you want to get the clean file direct from my PC
  • 0

#35
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
Hi, I have been following the instructions that so graciously supplied so a noob like me could follow.
I was a somewhat concerned b/c I seemed to need Restore Point enabled and I don't in order that I use the Back Up that this proggy has, I neglected to document the name of it.

However, after reading reviews on it I decided to try it out anyway.

The results were mind boggling.

Clean Up disk identified:
1. Back up files 14... 9.18 mb
2. IE cache 564 files...18.62 mb
3. Log files 3 files....6.73 mb
4. Recycle Bin 6 files....00 mb
5. Secured Lost Cluster 2 files...00 mb
6. Temp files 30.. 143.94 mb
7. Temp help files 5....68 mb
8. Zero Byte files 12....69 mb

i cleaned them up and found in the Reg clean up:
1. Activex/COM 363 prob
2. File Types 53 prob
3. History Lists 453 prob
4. Shared files 9 prob

I corrected them all.
:whistling: I use Advanced System Optimizer which I bought and thought it was dealing with all of the problems or potential problems.
I really hope that I have not caused problems as there definitely is no backup for me after I did these cleanings as I don't use system restore b/c nasties can hide there.

I did all my scans before, my norton a/v, spybot, trojan hunter and the McAffee Stand alone Stinger and nothing showed up.
As I mentioned i have a high speed connection with a modem, smc router and alpha shield as well and have never over the 3 years with this notebook had any infection.

Just this huge problem with Nero. Certain saw it referenced as being in the Registry with this Tune Up and I cleaned it up.

I tried to D/L the Link that you earlier posted for Nero to clean the drivers and registry checker (uploaded); that I was unable to d/l earlier b/c it gave the error message the same as before to the effect that the page cannot be displaye..(I can't remember the exact wording...I should as I have seen it so often with Nero and of course in the task bar the error...cannot find server) So nothing has changed there.
I simply am baffled by all of this, I don't have exotic programs on this notebook.

Does this Tune Up only back up if one has System Restore on???

I bought the Advanced System Optimizer last year as it seemed to be rated well, however with your Tune Up I read the details and saw program entries listed that I had deleted months ago, so I believe it to be a better proggy, except my concern about Backup???

I hope that this info gives you something that may help in my dilemma.

I really appreciate your interest and ideas, and would appreciate anymore that you may have.
I have heard no further from my Nero Forum and really wonder what could be blocking me from doing this particular D/L????

As well do you have anymore suggestions that I could try with the program tune up, and just wondered about the 1 Click Maintenance on it? Do you use this program yourself? I phoned on it and they indicated that I could order a cd of it.
I would appreciate your experienced comments and still indeed hope to resolve this Nero problem.

Best Regards with again many thankyous :blink:
  • 0

#36
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Tune Up will make its own back up

I have Tune Up 2006 and am currently testing Tune Up 2007 as a member of their beta test team

If you want to, I can set it so that you can link directly to my PC to transfer the clean up file

I do not need or get access to your PC and you only get access to that particular file

Beyond this, and despite the anti virus tests you have run, you should consider this next part as well now

Please follow the procedures outlined here: Malware Removal Guide

You will need a PC which can connect to the internet

Run all the programmes as advised then post a current Hijack This Log in a new topic in the Malware Forum

For the purpose of accurate malware analysis, Hijack This Logs are only dealt with in the Malware Forum. Posting them anywhere else will result in a delayed response

If you are unable to run any of the programmes, please ask for advice in the Malware Forum
  • 0

#37
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
Thx Keith for the suggestion, I am going to take it down to my neighbour and have him check out the notebook and see what he comes up with as it is going on 3 days now and I need to do some data backup. The Nero was working fine until I d/l Links from a Nero forum and was told that I did not need to remove my existing program to do it.
This is the first time I have done this and then all of these issues with Nero. The member that I got the Links from is part of the staff of that forum and so I think that I will simply have the Nero program checked out.

What I also wanted to ask you is that you indicated that Tune Up makes its own backup, however when I was browsing it and tried to include a backup date, I got the message that I could not access the Rescue Center b/c I had my System Restore disabled which I do b/c of nasties possibly hiding there and so i was unable to put in a date and have the settings saved before I did the cleaning.
How do I do this as I am indeed interested in the Program.
I mentioned that I purchased Advanced System Optimizer which does almost the same as this program but is obviously not that thorough and it was in my Start Up and Nero appeared to be conflicting with it as it was consistent in not appearing in the task bar if I clicked on Nero.
Ultimately after I removed Nero, this program must have gotten corrupted as I had to removed it since it would not work at all.
I do have the CD for it though.

Is there a place where I can read to know what settings I should use on the Tune Up or do you know what I should set the Program at?
I would really appreciate it as I want to give it a good trial over the 30 days and see if it does the job better than the Advanced System Optimizer that I use and that was highly touted as year.

How do I do a Backup if I don't have System Restore enabled?

I have 30 days from today to test it out and then I wondered if I should buy it if I like it as it certainly found a lot of entries that my other program did not and it also is supposed to increase my hi speed connection to the optimum.
If I get the 2006 is there a price break for a current user or would I better to wait for the 2007 although you mentioned that you are a beta tester and so I am wondering when the 2007 may get released.

In closing why do you suggest I check out the unit for Malware??? I was just curious.

I sincerely appreciate your guidance and persistence in helping me with this strange set of circumstances.
You are indeed an asset to this forum and I certainly will not forget that.
I hope that you can reply to my queries and perhaps google for Advanced System Optimizer and compare to your Tune Up program.

Also the suggestions of how to do a backup when I have System Restore disabled and clicking on the Rescue Centre tells me that I can't set up a backup b/c of this. Perhaps I am doing something wrong.

I will reply back to you after I see my software tech and advise of findings.

Again, many Cudos and I look forward to comments on the Tune Up 6 settings as I may wish to purchase it and replace my Advanced System Optimizer with it as long as i can do backups without the System Restore enabled and click on Rescue Centre to get me back to the settings before I do a clean up if I need to do one.

Also what is 1 Click Maintenance??

Best regards, with sincerest thankyous for your time and patience.

As mentioned earlier you are indeed an asset to Geeks to Go, 10 times over !!! :whistling: :blink: :help:

Edited by newbie geek, 03 November 2006 - 06:04 AM.

  • 0

#38
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
See what your friend says, but it could be a good time to clear out all the programmes you do not need, then run tune up, 1 Click is a quicker / reduced version of the main part of tune up

[attachment=11522:attachment]

The default settings are adequate, you can make other changes using system control, though this isn't essential

When you open Tune Up with the yellow icon, on the right is an arrow, click that, click tune up help, then post if you need to clarify anything, or you can use their online help

As to using HJT and posting the log to the malware team, HJT will show a lot about the system and what should and should not be there

You can use winbackup from my signature if you do not want to use system restore

If they release a new version within a time limit, it was 90 days then you could upgrade to the new version at no cost

2007 is at beta one so I expect it will be a while yet
  • 0

#39
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
The friend that I am taking my notebook to just did a clean up of my programs about two months ago and so I don't really want to do that in such a short time frame.
The programs that are on here are ones used and so I doubt that he will agree to that.

I just tried disabling the firewall, popup blocker and my A/V program and that didn't help either.

My notebook as I mentioned is using hi speed and also a SMC Router with Alpha Shield, all required by work; I was wondering if any of these could be blocking the d/l; but what I can't understand is that I can access the site, do d/l's with other files and d/l's from other sites.

The friend that I am taking my notebook to has been for the past 3 years and there has never been an infection. I just got off the phone with him and he told me not to bother with the Hi Jack log, that he will look at it and check it out.
He has done the d/ls before for Nero and completed them including the uninstall within an hour and does not expect problems this time.
He himself is puzzled as to what the issue is here. One forum member mentioned that perhaps it is b/c the tool is coming from an "http" site??? Whatever that means and I still can't d/l the uploaded Driver Cleaner or Registry Checker that you sent to me and this was after I did all of the items I listed out to you. But the day before I was able to d/l your uploaded Clean Tool.
I simply can't understand technology.

Oh, I still don't see where the backup is in the Tune Up since I can't use Rescue Centre and don't know how to implement an alternative to System Restore. The whole office has the 40 Toshibas with their System Restore Disabled and it was done by Toshiba themselves as they indicated it causes too many problems with nasties hiding.

I do want to try out that Tune Up program, but want to insure that I am doing a backup, lest i have a problem with one of my work programs and then I will be in trouble.

I am trying to get the Nero working so I can use the data backup which I always have.

Thanking you in advance.
  • 0

#40
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
You can use this for data back up

http://www.cdburnerxp.se/features.php

If you saw that tune up wants system restore on then that's that

The clean tool should have been from an ftp site

You can access it from my PC if you like
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
Well Keith, I post this as after 2 arduous days I have figured it out myself and I post this in case another member comes across a problem like this.....agony!!!!

I went back to the window with " This page cannot be displayed", then I went to my IE 6 Tools and reviewed the settings.

1. SSL 2.0 was checked
2. SSl 3.0 was checked
3. TLS 1.0 was NOT checked and so I checked it , not knowing what I was doing!!!
4. PCT 1.0 was non existent on my notebook, so I could do nothing.

I went back to the Nero 6 Clean Tool to try to d/l and a message from the "Security Centre" from my notebook said part or all of the program " nero" was blocked, did I want to unblock it. Of course I read what could be the results if I unblock and I could see no reason and so I unblocked it.

Then I disabled the sp2 Firewall and tried and d/l and still a error.
So I took the cable out of the Router and went direct from the Modem to the notebook and tried a D/L and voila!! It worked.
So I did a d/l for the Clean tool 6, Driver Cleaner and Registry Checker and used them.
And then I used my install Links (2) for the most stable version 6.6.0.18 and installed successfully.

I saved everything and put them in a folders for Cleaners and installers and then I went back and enabled the sp2 firewall and reconnected my router.

Now I am wondering about the TLS 1.0 and why it was not checked off as I have left it checked. Should I, and if I do could there be issues???

And there is a place in the Security Centre for "Exceptions", should I allow "Nero" to be an exception for my Firewall sp2???

I thought that I would post this for others to see and for you as you spent so much time with me and I really appreciated it, I don't give up and I think about things for awhile and that's why I went back to the originating error page.

I did not have to take the notebook to my friend after all and I knew that I did not have "nasties" present.

I hope to hear from you re all of the above.

A hearty thankyou, once again.
Your Canadian, northern friend.
  • 0

#42
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
You can leave 1.0 it is ticked here by default

[attachment=11539:attachment]

Nero 6 would only need online access to update, and there aren't any beyond 6.6.0.18 (yet), so no need to make an exception for it

Good that it is sorted now

Thank You for letting me know
  • 0

#43
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
What about the 2.0 SSL as this was the way my computer was set up at my work and without the TLS 1.0 checked off???

I still am confused as to what these are all about??

Best Regards,

I can't D/L the way it is set up now, as described in the earlier post it won't allow nero in????

:whistling: Best Regards
  • 0

#44
Retired Tech

Retired Tech

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts

And then I used my install Links (2) for the most stable version 6.6.0.18 and installed successfully.


What are you unable to do with Nero

You can return the settings to how they were if it lets you download
  • 0

#45
newbie geek

newbie geek

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
Hi Keith, I finally got Links from another forum, saved the setups to my desktop. I did a couple of burns of 2 dvd's and the backups turned out fine.

Strange thing though is that my office software techie and I still can't d/l from Nero even though we get a welcome and our serial numbers are registered.

The Window opens to do a d/l but won't. I even tried the other site of San Jose Ca. and still no luck.

I really can't understand it, except that the version that I did finally d/l the 6.6.0.18 is not the latest version. The latest version does not work well with Shrink and you get errors and that is why I wanted this particular version.
Still don't understand why Nero keeps giving those Error messages on the Window and Task Bar. It is really mind boggling!!?? :whistling:
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP