Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Which linux system

• Please log in to reply

nursejess

nursejess

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
I am new to linux and need a graphic interface since i do not know command line. We have fedora on my husbands machine and it is ok but what linux would you recommend?

Advertisements

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts
A lot depends on you hardware and what you want to do with your system. Fedora Core 6 looks nice and is quite complete for about anything you might want. I haven't tested a Red Hat distro in about a year but this one may earn a spot on one of my boxes :whistling: .

Ubuntu is popular but I prefer SimplyMepis for my day to day. It's Ubuntu core is very stable and with the ease of the installer I think it is ideal for new users. The Ubuntu package repositories have most anything you could ever need to add to your system. I also prefer KDE to Gnome so I'm prejudice to distos with the KDE desktop and a Debian base.

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
There is a new fedora just out, core6 if he doesn't have that it came out 19th of last month.

I like vanilla ubuntu personally the new 6.10 release i especially like using the enlightenment window manager.

happyrock

happyrock

Tech Moderator

• Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts