Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Software questions.

• Please log in to reply

jrspie

jrspie

• PipPip
  • 64 posts
I'm new to all of this, but did manage to install a new hard drive and clean install the os. XP Pro w/SP2.
But of course I messed it up and now have about 50 G. that I can't use due to the automatic partioning of the Seagate hard drive software.
I'm looking for an easy to use software that I can use to reclaim my lost disc space.
Also, need easy to use software for creating back ups of my files and to make cd copies of my os etc so that I can use it as a boot disc.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
J.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
There is 2 different methods to reclaim partition space. The first method involves buying the Partition Magic program for around $60 and use it to recombine partitions back together. It does work but to me is a very expensive method to do this, especially if you only need the program one time in your life.

The second method is to use a "LIVE" linux CD to reformat the partition that you have lost back into a format that windows can use. This does not recombine partitions but does make the space useable. I like this method because the cost is of burning a linux ISO to a cd and thats it. Read this website carefully and it tells you how to use SIMPLY MEPIS 3.3 to reclaim the lost partition space using Q-parted.