Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Fraps help: Wont record sound


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
I'm using fraps version 2.8.1 and i cant record sound (yes i clicked "record sound" and it detected my best recording input as "wave") and I'm recording the game "Half-life". I can hear the sound ingame but fraps Isn't recording! Please and thank you

Edited by Cheat_DEcoder, 14 November 2006 - 02:04 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
I even tried the rest of my recording inputs! They don't work!
  • 0

#3
Facedown98

Facedown98

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 2,989 posts
Hi. What other option besides "wave" does Fraps give you to record from?
  • 0

#4
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Posted Image

Microphone was the only thing that worked but I hate holding it up to the speaker.

And I also tried Growler Guncam but that didn't record sound either....

Edited by Cheat_DEcoder, 15 November 2006 - 04:04 PM.

  • 0

#5
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
From Faps, Selecting "Record Sound" will save the game audio along with the video. You can disable this option if you are planning to add your own sound to the video.

When you select "Detect best sound input" Fraps will determine the best input to record the game sound on. If you choose "Use Windows input" the default Windows recording input will be used. The Windows input may not capture all of the game sounds, so you should generally let Fraps detect the input unless you want to capture sound from an external source.


http://www.fraps.com/faq.php
  • 0

#6
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
I looked at the FAQ and i did everything you listed in there before.
  • 0

#7
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
well I haven't had any issues and nor have any of my clan mates who use it extensively. What is your sound hardware.... on board sound, sound blaster for examples?
  • 0

#8
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Sound Blaster Live


And this problem didn't happen until I formatted so I don't think the card is the problem

Edited by Cheat_DEcoder, 16 November 2006 - 05:50 AM.

  • 0

#9
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
I was thinking that you needed to update your sound card drivers.
  • 0

#10
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
It says the drivers are up to date!
  • 0

#11
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
I used fraps before and it recorded sound perfectly but a month ago my hard drive was failing and I had to replace it with a newer one.

I am using Windows XP by the way
  • 0

#12
Cheat_DEcoder

Cheat_DEcoder

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
IT WAS THE DRIVERS!UPDATE CHECKER COMPLETELY FOOLED ME!

Sorry guys I appreciate your hard work....
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP