Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

unwanted ie box


  • Please log in to reply

#1
icer

icer

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
today whenever i attempt to use internet i get an ie box which says

when you send information to the internet it might be possible for others to see that information.. do you want to continue?

I havnt seen this since i 1st got the computer & wonder where it came from & whether it is insidious? If not what is the best way to get rid of it :tazz:

look forward to hearing from you ;)
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
pip22

pip22

    Trusted Tech

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
Probably comes from one of Microsofts security-updates which I don't have
'cos I don't get that message (though I used to before I did a re-install).
It is just making you aware of the possible risk --- nothing dodgy about. I've looked in all the options and can't find where you can disable it, but I can assure you it is part of IE and not something you should worry about. It hasn't been 'planted' to harm your PC!
  • 0

#3
icer

icer

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts
thanx pip :tazz:
  • 0

#4
WyldStallyyn

WyldStallyyn

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
You should be able to turn that off by going to Tools / Internet Options / Advanced / and clicking on the 2nd box from the bottom (Warn if changing between secure and nonsecure mode). Mine just started doing it, too. Must have been reinvoked by a recent critical update, but that option should turn it back off.

:tazz:
  • 0

#5
pip22

pip22

    Trusted Tech

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
WyldStallyyn, I think that option you're referring to generates a different warning like "you are being directed from a secure to a non-secure page, do you wish to continue?" But I may be wrong on that.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP