Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Slow Start Up and Hanging Shut Down

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

ccoandy

ccoandy

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi,

This is my first time here. I'll describe what's going on, what I've done so far, and then let you guys do your magic.

There are two main things happening:
1. Whenever I start up my computer and log in, my computer is very slow to give me control. It seems like it takes forever to get through the initial start up procedures. During one point my entire screen will go black, and then come back, icon by icon. The entire process takes about five minutes. If I try to launch a program during that time, say firefox or outlook, the delay is even longer and the program I've requested usually gets hung up and I have to force it's termination.

2. When I go to hibernate, restart, or shut down my computer, it gets hung up. I will see "End Program" boxes for ccApp.exe and (less frequently) .NET Framework, but both of those usually resolve themselves quickly. However, every time I get a box that says, "End Program - Help". The indicator bar fills up and then it prompts me to "End Now" or "Cancel". If I cancel, my computer doesn't shut down and I get in the same situation when I try to shut it down again. If I choose to terminate the program, it will finish shutting down.

I went through all the newbie steps:
a. ran ATF cleaner
b. created a new system restore point and deleted all others
c. ran ad-aware se
d. ran avg anti-spyware in safe mode (report posted below)