Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Software to compare files

• Please log in to reply

dlw

dlw

• PipPipPip
  • 184 posts
As a writer I save, save, save.
Is there a software program (preferably open source, free) that can compare files?
Example: I use GQView in Linux to compare photographs and it returns a percentage.

Thanks,
dlw

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
Can you give a little more info as to what you want that description is a little vague.

dlw

dlw

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 184 posts
Thanks for replying.

Are you familar with the program 'gqview' in linux? As an amature photographer I use it extensively. It compares photos in a directory then gives a percentage of how similar the photos are. If 2 or more photos are identical it returns 100%, if a little different; maybe 98% or 96%, etc.

I store my writing under a date format such as 'nameoffile-11-28-06'. Then, change the name to a new date when the file is edited. Well, over time there can be many files with different dates. Some of these files will have minor editing while others may have considerable. Comparing the number of bytes in a file does not tell me what I want to know.