Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows Freezes at Loading Screen?

• Please log in to reply

Pathen

Pathen

• Pip
  • 5 posts
I am a college student in a digital graphics major, and I depend on my PC running for my grades. For the last several weeks it has been degrading, however.

It all started when I noticed that at extended loading screens for games (Newer games, such as BF2142) the loading screen would "hang" with repeating sound. Rebooting the computer fixed this issue up to a point- however, after a particularly bad series of crashes while loading, the computer wouldn't boot at all.

First, Windows would only get to the loading screen and eventually "hang" (freeze) there. (The blue bar would stop moving.)

After awhile I just determined that the Harddrive was corrupt and replaced it. After replacing the harddrive the computer worked fine booting up exactly twice. The next day when I went to start the computer, it Froze at the loading screen again.

For awhile, I thought I could sidestep this by entering the bios, or continuously rebooting in an attempt to make it work. (A friend of mine told me that it could be a BIOS issue, but the CMOS is still fine.)