Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My Internet's Not Working... But Why?

• Please log in to reply

superstar

superstar

• PipPipPip
  • 718 posts
Okay I've been using Netscape High Speed internet for about 6-8 months now and I have never experienced problems using my internet. Now yesterday I woke up for another business at home day, and fired up my pc. I clicked on my internet shorcut icon that I made with windows xp (not with the disk they provided me 8 months ago). & out of nowhere my internet was dragging itself, it was very slow and downloads where terrible. It kept getting slower, and slower, and slower. and slower as the day went by...

Now I'm thinking to myself "What The *^$%&#" is going on here?". I unplugged my modem and even took the power plug off the wall in order to reset it, and tried to see if that would help... Hmmm it didn't, and so I ended up going around the house checking the filters they gave me to use on my house phones. Everyone was fine on the phones I had put them on, except for one... There was one in my bedroom that was not on the jack. So basically the phone was plugged right to the wall and not using the filter! The filter was on it before though from what I remember (& I have a perfect memory).