Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Major Network Slowdown!

• Please log in to reply

lpchris85

lpchris85

• PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
hello all!
i have recently been having networking issues in my home. my current setup is a desktop as a base station with cable internet through a modem which is connected to a Belkin Pre-N wireless router. Off of the router is a Linksys 5 port switch.
I have been using my network for 2 years now with great results and lately i have noticed EXTREME slowdown in all my hard wired pc's as well as my wireless notebooks. my first action was replacing the router (i originally had a Linksys WRT54G.) That did not solve the problem so i have now bought a Linksys cable modem, thinking this may be a possible solution. I called Time Warner to tell them i was switching modems and i had to tell them my MAC address or MAC number on the modem. they then told me it would take them approx. 7 days to activate it.
my question is, am i taking the right coarse of action or am i far off from the solution? any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

my network:
3- hard wired desktops.
2- wireless notebooks.
1- hard line to xbox 360 console (although i have bought a wireless reciever and gotten the exact same results due to the slowdown.)

Advertisements

SpaceCowboy706

SpaceCowboy706

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,175 posts
Hello lpchris85 and welcome to G2G,

Sounds like an easy troublshooting thread at a first glance. :whistling: