Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

School Combination Network Issue

• Please log in to reply

nforcer06164

nforcer06164

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
Before I begin, I'd like to mention that I have significant authority to research and correct a problem. I'm not posting this because I'm a simple student who just wants to use the Internet.

Lately, my school network has had some issues. This extends across all wired networks. Network usability has decreased significantly, and loading pages for all users, from students to faculty to administration, has slowed to a crawl or even stopped. What I recently found out is that a wireless network was installed in a portion of the school, and serves about 12 or so computers, the most distant being about 75 feet away from the supposed access point (central to all the units) through two 6-inch walls.

I have two scenarios to explain the problem. First, we had problems last year during the winter months. We suspected that the cold weather, snow, and ice (this is a Chicago winter, mind you) had caused a problem with connectivity (this is still pre-wireless). While our provider couldn't give us a clear answer in this regard, it seemed to be a problem with their line somewhere. We still don't know if the weather could cause the problem, but it is a possibility.