Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Unstable operating system


  • Please log in to reply

#196
Whiskeyman

Whiskeyman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
Troubleshooting a Stop 0x0000000A error in Windows XP

If all else fails;

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
  • 0

Advertisements


#197
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
Should I install the rest of my drivers before trying to repair windows? Or does it not matter?
  • 0

#198
Whiskeyman

Whiskeyman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
What drivers haven't you installed?
  • 0

#199
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
I haven't installed Direct X, SCSI ATA RAID Drivers, ACPI drivers, AC97 audio drivers (newer chipset drivers come with audio drivers). I also haven't installed CPU drivers (mostly because I've never heard of having to do so).

ADDENDUM
Posted Image
Got this while surfing the net and listening to music.
2nd ADDENDUM
I got the same blue screen again. Doing the same stuff.

Edited by you_silly_mortals, 02 April 2007 - 08:52 PM.

  • 0

#200
Whiskeyman

Whiskeyman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
That indicates you are still having driver conflicts. I would start fresh and install known good drivers in the correct order (motherboard, graphics, sound, Ethernet/modem) before installing updates, anti-virus and a bunch of programs.
  • 0

#201
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
I'm not sure at all which of my drivers are "known good" though. Can you clarify this?
  • 0

#202
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
just went thru this "novel" of a thread...only thing I noticed is a IRQ conflict back in post 144...you might want to try letting the bios to set the IRQ's or if its already set that way ..reverse it and let windows set the IRQ's...

Edited by happyrck, 03 April 2007 - 10:23 AM.

  • 0

#203
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts

just went thru this "novel" of a thread...only thing I noticed is a IRQ conflict back in post 144...you might want to try letting the bios to set the IRQ's or if its already set that way ..reverse it and let windows set the IRQ's...

I have no idea how to set IRQ's with the bios or windows. But I would love to try this, so if you could tell me how to do this that would be great.

ADDENDUM
Posted Image

Edited by you_silly_mortals, 03 April 2007 - 10:02 PM.

  • 0

#204
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
get everest home here....install it ..launch it and click on the motherboard icon...get the mobo name and model #...also the chipset info...post it back here so I can get your mobo manual
  • 0

#205
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
ill get the other info from everest soon.
but heres a link to the motherboard manual.

http://dlsvr03.asus....sli_premium.zip

EDIT
Motherboard name: Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Motherboard ID: 10/21/2005-NF-CK804-A8NSLI-P-00

(Chipset info copy pasted from chipset section of motherboard)
North Bridge Properties
--North Bridge: nVIDIA nForce4 SLI (CK8-04)
--Revision: A3
--Process Technology: 0.13 um

Edited by you_silly_mortals, 04 April 2007 - 09:29 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#206
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
that link didn't work...
  • 0

#207
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
Sorry for the link not working. It's working fine for me so if you want I can email you the .zip file if you want.
Asus' download site has always been slow though, so I'm not really surprised that the link doesn't work for you. Half the time their download links don't work for me either.

Edited by you_silly_mortals, 04 April 2007 - 09:33 AM.

  • 0

#208
Whiskeyman

Whiskeyman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
This is the manual in PDF form. (Global download)

http://dlsvr01.asus....068_a8n-sli.pdf

Edited by Whiskeyman, 04 April 2007 - 09:37 AM.

  • 0

#209
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
got it...
you need to reboot and start tapping the delete key...about once per second...look at the screenshot and in the advanced section....see whether the bios or windows is controlling the IRQ's...whatever way it set reverse it and press F10 to save your settings and reboot...
  • 0

#210
you_silly_mortals

you_silly_mortals

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
When I switch to the other setting [manual] all that does is allow me to set the IRQ's manually within the bios.
There is no option that says anything about windows.
BTW I did switch it though.

ADDENDUM
Posted Image
This first screenshot was taken before I changed the IRQ setting mode. Strangely it was set to [manual].
Posted Image
This second one was taken after the change.

Edited by you_silly_mortals, 04 April 2007 - 01:36 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP