Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

HELP! Office 2007 Free Trial messed up my computer

• Please log in to reply

tricky0ff

tricky0ff

• Pip
  • 5 posts
I am an office manager and this is about my work computer.
The other day I came across the download for the Office 2007 free trial and wanted to try it. I clicked on it and got the file and when I went to install it, I realized that I just didn't have the time to sit through it. So I stopped the install. Then I started noticing that my current Office 2003 was acting funny (had to install the thesaurus to use it, minor issues). So I thought that I might just go ahead and install 2007 and I set it up before I left work last night.
When I came in this morning, my Quickbooks program won't start up because there is now a problem with msxml3.dll. I need this program. I have to use it every single day here. My bosses are asking me to write them checks and I can't because I can't get Quickbooks to even start up. The Quickbooks website told me to download msxml.msi from Microsoft to fix the problem and I followed their directions step-by-step and it says the DLL initialization routine failed.
I tried to do a search on the hard drive to find out where the dll file is and I can't even search because it says I'm missing files for the search companion.