Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Unable to reformat

• Please log in to reply

• Pip
  • 2 posts
First off, I'm not very good withComputers, I've been around them my entire life, but I'mnot very good with them, but I am learning.

Now I got this alwful virus on my PC, :help: which I first noticed symptoms about 11 days ago, and a found a suspicious file in my documents, of 0 bytes, created 3 weeks ago, and titled setup ....I cannot delete it, even in safemode.

Symptoms are: #1 PC running slow in general, a few odd error messages, I cannot recall them all, but one was about reporting to AK.Bluestreak.com?

#2 task manager is FUBAR, I cannot see what processes are running, I even lost the "X" in the top right corner, to exit out of it.

here is a screen of what it looks like... http://i32.photobuck...49/Viruspic.jpg

#3 My disk drive is not working, it will not read any disk I put in it, it could be my hardware just stopped working, but it happened at the same time as task manager went FUBAR, so I think its bug related.

the day I found out I had a bug, I tryed to use system restore, but every restore point I tryed, failed, so then I put my GateWay system recovery/Reformat disk in and rebooted, to reformat and start over, but since my disk drive is shot, I can't use it... :blink:

Thats about it, any help would be very appreciated! :whistling: