Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Did system recovery-are all songs (and docs) lost forever?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
sheal

sheal

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
Hi There,

I had a problem downloading the apple i-tunes software. While reversing a change I made I managed to locked myself out of the system. In desperation I did a disk recovery, at lease I thought it was. My understanding was that the system would be like it was when we first purchased it. However, after the restoration I still had my accounting software and data, along with the I-tunes application. However all songs are gone in addition to my docs. I knew this would happen but I was desperate to get the computer running again. Any way to get any of the songs back? Is it possible for an expert to recover them? I hear about information being recovered, how about in this case?

Please advise.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
acklan

acklan

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 442 posts
  • MVP
It will mainly depend on if you have overwritten the files. Here is a program I have used, FreeUndelete 2.0
  • 0

#3
sheal

sheal

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
Acklan,

After looking at the website I will need an external drive to put the recovered files on, correct?

Thanks for the prompt response. :whistling:

Sheal
  • 0

#4
acklan

acklan

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 442 posts
  • MVP
Hmm.. I alway moved them to a USB drive (Flash). I suppose you will have to. Otherwise you may overwrite your files before coping them to a different location.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP