Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Trouble upgrading from ME to XP Pro

• Please log in to reply

sean M from NH

sean M from NH

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello!

I have tried several times to upgrade my PC from Windows ME to Windows XP Pro. Each time, the install gets stuck on the final step with 22 minutes remaining. Any suggestions? I am not very tech savvy, so feel free to dumb down any suggestions you may have. Thank you!

Sean

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
How do you mean "it gets stuck"?

sean M from NH

sean M from NH

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Neil,

Thanks for responding to my call for help. When you choose the option to upgrade from the XP Pro CD, it goes through a series of steps on the screen. Each step shows a countdown "60 minutes to go, 45 minutes to go" etc. On the final step, the counter gets down to 22 minutes, then never goes any further. I've even tried letting it run overnight, but in the morning, the counter is still at "22 minutes to go". I end up re-booting, and ME comes back. I've tried it with and without my dial-up cable connected, and with and without my router (surfboard SB3100) hooked up, but I always get the same result. Any ideas? Thank you.

Sean

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
This'll mean there's some issue somewhere that's stopping the upgrade.

The timeline for XP installation reads (between 39mins to go and 13mins to go)

# Installs Devices
# Installs Network