Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Problems, system is FUBAR

• Please log in to reply

JBCalander

JBCalander

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
;)
HP Pavillion 761n, XP Home, Athlon 1.67, 512 RAM, 80 GB hard drive, ATI Radeon 9200 GPU - 128 PCI

Its my brothers computer, Im no computer expert by any means but I know alot more than he does. This computer has not been maintained at all except for when I've had to try and fix problems. Had lots of games installed, and I had to deal with some hardware conflicts after installing a different graphics card. The integrated GPU would not permanently disable.

As you can imagine, the registry got FUBAR'd. The problems were steadily getting worse and I was trying to diagnose over the phone with him ( he lives 250 miles away). Long story short several System Restore attempts were tried after Norton Utilities was unable to solve all the problems.

Eventually it progressed to the point that Windows would no longer load. The boot process would start, hang, and then an error message appeared saying that Windows could not load. It gives these options:

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Command Prompt
Safe Mode with Networking
Start Windows with previous configuration that worked
Start Windows Normally