Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer Problems

• Please log in to reply

barb266

barb266

• PipPip
  • 31 posts
:whistling: Hi! I am happy to say I am a "Geeks To Go" fan. A member of your staff has been helping me for the past week or so and I am evens happier to say I am Malware FREE. However, I still have a very sluggish computer, very slow on startup and tends to freeze often, forcing me to manually turn it off. I am a novice w/computers, but I know this cannot be good. My "GTG Mentor" suggested I post here to see if anyone can help me. I will posty my system info from my HP System Diagnostic Log. Thanks in advance, Barb

Attached Files

Advertisements

ultimateslacker2

ultimateslacker2

Member 1K

• Retired Staff
  • 1,581 posts
Hey whats up barb!

Glad you like the site...we all dedicate our time to help others and we all enjoy it!

Ok lets see

Have you ran disk clean up/ defragged?

If so to no avail, we will run a chkdsk.

Click Start
Click Run
Type "cmd" (no quotes)
Type "chkdsk /f /r" (no quotes)
It will say the file system is locked and will require a reboot. Type Y and reboot the PC.

If this does not help, try a sfc /scannow.

Click Start
Click Run
type "cmd"
type "sfc /scannow

Make sure you have the cd for this so you can replace corrupted or missing DLL files.

barb266

barb266

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts