Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No boot device detected: system halted?!?!?

• Please log in to reply

Gatorjay

Gatorjay

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey everybody,

Let me first say its great that there are people out there willing to help people out for free. Im a struggling college student and paying 200+ bucks for geeksquad to come out is way too much money for me.

And now to my problem:

I have to this day been pretty good at fixing viruses and my computer, and thought I knew most ways out of sticky situations. However, today my computer seems to have just flatout crashed. It happened as I was upgrading my windows media player. I was not seeking to do this, but was prompted by the media player when I tried to play a class lecture. Im hoping it wasnt a disguised virus prompt, and I double-clicked my computer to a certain death.

Anyways, my symptoms are as follows: