Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Build Suggestions

• Please log in to reply

MatthewG

MatthewG

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
I am very new to the world of building computers so please keep that in mind. I am used to using an older HP laptop and very tired of waiting for things to load, lag, etc. I don’t game (but would like maybe have some ability to, I don’t want to be limited). The main reason for building is because I program quite a bit, sometimes in things like VB but most importantly microchips through external hardware. My requirements:

- Be able to run multiple large development programs at the same time.
- Multiple monitor setup.
- DVD/TV tuner capability.
- Good sound output for small auxiliary speakers.
- High speed USB (I use a 1:4 expander right now; I could use up to 5 in my current setup)
- Enough memory for both the development software and music.

I will most likely go for Windows Vista? That seems to be the latest and greatest. I have been reading and a core duo processor looks like a very good choice. Anyways, beyond that I just need some general help with the MOBO, RAM, maybe a good CD/DVD unit, and sound/video card (sapphire, AGP?). I think a psu is easy enough to pick out, and case might be last too. I am just stepping my foot in the door right now. My budget is about $1000 for it all, but if a good system can be for $800 so be it, or $1200, so be it. Thanks to all you for the help!

Advertisements

ultimateslacker2

ultimateslacker2

Member 1K

• Retired Staff
  • 1,581 posts