Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

No games installing


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hey,
I recently bought World Of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade and went to install it only to find the windows error message 'Updater has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.' Trying to install any other game gives me the same message (<file name> has encountered a problem and needs to close.) This is driving me mad as its been going on for 3 days now and i have found nothing to resolve the problem. If anyone could help out I'd b very grateful.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
hotvoltage

hotvoltage

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Hi Calljif,

I tried to post in the waiting room but I couldn't do it. I guess its only for staff members.

Out of curiosity have you tried disconnecting from the internet and disabling your security systems. I would disable the firewall, antivirus, antispyware etc etc. I would even disable any program that is running on the system tray which is running on memory.

Games use up a lot of system resources so if you have other programs running in the background. It can cause your system resources to become exhausted especially if you are low on Ram. If your hard drive is full and fragmented a game that uses lots of resources will put a lot of strain on your hard drive.

If you have tried this already run a check disk to check for errors.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315265



Posted Image


  • 0

#3
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
In addition to running check disk (a good thing do) is to try running the WoW repair utility.

for more info check here
  • 0

#4
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hmm nether of these solutions have unfortunately worked :whistling:

This is what i get every time i try click on the installation icon for it.

Posted Image

Posted Image

No idea if that helps.

I have 1.5gb ram and more than double enough memory to install The Burning Crusade. =S.

By the way i also get the same error message if i try and install any other games just with a different file name depending on what the setup.exe is named as.

I have a Dr.Watson report on the error if this would help this error to be solved.

Edited by Calljif, 28 January 2007 - 02:01 PM.

  • 0

#5
hotvoltage

hotvoltage

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Yea post the doctor watson log here.

In the meantime run an sfc /scannow if you haven't done it yet. That will make sure all your system files are there and in the right place.

Click start then run. In the run box type in exactly like this or cut copy and paste this

sfc /scannow
  • 0

#6
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
ok heres the dr. watson report...Hope you understand more of it then i do =P

Application exception occurred:
App: E:\Installer.exe (pid=3072)
When: 22/01/2007 @ 16:13:29.250
Exception number: c0000005 (access violation)

*----> System Information <----*
Computer Name: PC
User Name: A
Terminal Session Id: 0
Number of Processors: 1
Processor Type: x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1
Windows Version: 5.1
Current Build: 2600
Service Pack: 2
Current Type: Uniprocessor Free
Registered Organization:
Registered Owner: A

*----> Task List <----*
0 System Process
4 System
736 smss.exe
800 csrss.exe
828 winlogon.exe
876 services.exe
888 lsass.exe
1056 svchost.exe
1104 svchost.exe
1300 svchost.exe
1436 svchost.exe
1692 ccSetMgr.exe
1768 ccEvtMgr.exe
1840 ccProxy.exe
1852 SNDSrvc.exe
1912 SPBBCSvc.exe
1940 symlcsvc.exe
588 spoolsv.exe
1384 PhotoshopElementsFileAgent.exe
1408 ALUSchedulerSvc.exe
1496 GBPoll.exe
1536 MDM.EXE
1636 navapsvc.exe
1708 nvsvc32.exe
1880 PhotoshopElementsDeviceConnect.exe
324 svchost.exe
640 alg.exe
572 Explorer.EXE
880 NVMixerTray.exe
2056 Acrotray.exe
2096 Gear311T.exe
2132 ybrwicon.exe
2164 ccApp.exe
2260 qttask.exe
2304 ctfmon.exe
2328 WCESCOMM.EXE
2436 ycommon.exe
3164 GBTray.exe
3176 ymsgr_tray.exe
296 svchost.exe
3412 NSCSRVCE.EXE
2776 firefox.exe
3732 msmsgs.exe
3072 Installer.exe
1432 drwtsn32.exe

*----> Module List <----*
(0000000000400000 - 0000000000420000: E:\Installer.exe
(0000000077b40000 - 0000000077b62000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Apphelp.dll
(0000000077c00000 - 0000000077c08000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\VERSION.dll
(0000000077c10000 - 0000000077c68000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msvcrt.dll
(0000000077d40000 - 0000000077dd0000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\USER32.dll
(0000000077dd0000 - 0000000077e6b000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ADVAPI32.dll
(0000000077e70000 - 0000000077f01000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\RPCRT4.dll
(0000000077f10000 - 0000000077f57000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\GDI32.dll
(0000000077f60000 - 0000000077fd6000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHLWAPI.dll
(000000007c800000 - 000000007c8f4000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\kernel32.dll
(000000007c900000 - 000000007c9b0000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntdll.dll

*----> State Dump for Thread Id 0xf40 <----*

eax=00000000 ebx=7ffde000 ecx=0012ffb0 edx=7c90eb94 esi=00000020 edi=0148db94
eip=00406c35 esp=0012ffc4 ebp=0012fff0 iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
cs=001b ss=0023 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003b gs=0000 efl=00000246

*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for E:\Installer.exe
function: Installer
00406c21 0000 add [eax],al
00406c23 0000 add [eax],al
00406c25 0000 add [eax],al
00406c27 0000 add [eax],al
00406c29 0000 add [eax],al
00406c2b 0000 add [eax],al
00406c2d 0000 add [eax],al
00406c2f 0000 add [eax],al
00406c31 0000 add [eax],al
00406c33 0000 add [eax],al
FAULT ->00406c35 0000 add [eax],al ds:0023:00000000=??
00406c37 0000 add [eax],al
00406c39 0000 add [eax],al
00406c3b 0000 add [eax],al
00406c3d 0000 add [eax],al
00406c3f 0000 add [eax],al
00406c41 0000 add [eax],al
00406c43 0000 add [eax],al
00406c45 0000 add [eax],al
00406c47 0000 add [eax],al
00406c49 0000 add [eax],al

*----> Stack Back Trace <----*
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
ChildEBP RetAddr Args to Child
0012fff0 00000000 00406c35 00000000 78746341 Installer+0x6c35

*----> Raw Stack Dump <----*
000000000012ffc4 d7 6f 81 7c 94 db 48 01 - 20 00 00 00 00 e0 fd 7f .o.|..H. .......
000000000012ffd4 05 00 00 c0 c8 ff 12 00 - e8 fb 12 00 ff ff ff ff ................
000000000012ffe4 a8 9a 83 7c e0 6f 81 7c - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ...|.o.|........
000000000012fff4 00 00 00 00 35 6c 40 00 - 00 00 00 00 41 63 74 78 ....5l@.....Actx
0000000000130004 20 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 - 98 24 00 00 c4 00 00 00 ........$......
0000000000130014 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 14 00 00 00 .... ...........
0000000000130024 01 00 00 00 06 00 00 00 - 34 00 00 00 14 01 00 00 ........4.......
0000000000130034 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
0000000000130044 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
0000000000130054 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 14 02 00 00 9c 01 00 00 ................
0000000000130064 00 00 00 00 5b 49 59 2d - b0 03 00 00 32 00 00 00 ....[IY-....2...
0000000000130074 e4 03 00 00 d2 02 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 e4 02 02 83 ................
0000000000130084 b8 06 00 00 46 00 00 00 - 00 07 00 00 ea 02 00 00 ....F...........
0000000000130094 00 00 00 00 d2 d5 8c d1 - ec 09 00 00 46 00 00 00 ............F...
00000000001300a4 34 0a 00 00 ea 02 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 2e ad 6a d8 4.............j.
00000000001300b4 20 0d 00 00 46 00 00 00 - 68 0d 00 00 04 03 00 00 ...F...h.......
00000000001300c4 10 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 - d4 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 ................
00000000001300d4 01 00 00 00 14 01 00 00 - 8c 0f 00 00 01 00 00 00 ................
00000000001300e4 02 00 00 00 a0 10 00 00 - 2c 03 00 00 01 00 00 00 ........,.......
00000000001300f4 04 00 00 00 cc 13 00 00 - 50 10 00 00 02 00 00 00 ........P.......

Also about the sfc /scannow i can't run that since i dont have the I386 folder on my computer OR the Windows XP installation CD. (No i wasn't stupid enough to delete the I386 folder =P Just was never there in the first place.)

Edited by Calljif, 28 January 2007 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0

#7
hotvoltage

hotvoltage

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
It could be the World of Warcraft cd have you tried installing it on another computer. If it works there then it may be your computer.

Edited by hotvoltage, 28 January 2007 - 07:47 PM.

  • 0

#8
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hmm nope that hasn't changed the issue =(. Unless anyone else has a solution i'll keep experimenting to find out what's wrong. If i find a solution I'll post back.

Its not the World of Warcraft CD. I get the error message with any game i try to install =(
  • 0

#9
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
have you installed wow on a different hard drive or specified a different default install location like c:\wow for instanace?

hotvoltage, we don't recomend risky programs here. In fact please refrain from posting about such utilities all together.
  • 0

#10
hotvoltage

hotvoltage

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Thanks for telling me. I'll edit the message altogether so it doesn't show that.

I wasn't sure of the rules.

Edited by hotvoltage, 28 January 2007 - 07:46 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I cant change where I have installed it (if your on about the original or expansion) If i uninstalled it (dont know if i can im not even going to try since its my only means of escaping from my [bleep] of a computer =]) I wouldn't be able to reinstall it and with the expansion or any other game the set up doesn't even open, it just gives that error message as soon as i try to open it.
  • 0

#12
SRX660

SRX660

    motto - Just get-er-done

  • Technician
  • 4,345 posts
I don't know if this can help but its an idea.

http://www.dylangree....asp?blogID=237

http://v4.windowsupd...m/troubleshoot/

I think the problem is the game corrupted the Windows updater. I have seen this happen with Adobe acrobat and the updater. That is why i included the updater troubleshooter website. The dylangreene website i put up to show why you may not be able to install games.

A couple of other websites i look to for answers all say to do a repair install of windows to fix it.

SRX660
  • 0

#13
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
Nope, nothing...Hoping this won't be a go out and buy windows xp and wipe everything all off my computer and start over job.
  • 0

#14
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,591 posts
what we probably should do is perform an xp repair on your system.

Please see this guide: http://www.geekstogo...ws_XP-t138.html

note: this will require you to enter your valid xp cd key during this process.

Edited by starjax, 29 January 2007 - 11:57 AM.

  • 0

#15
Calljif

Calljif

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I dont have a windows XP Installation CD. = / So i can't really do this. I tried doing it using a I386 folder burnt to CD but it just prompts for service pack 1. Looks like im going to have to go and buy a CD =( (No my version of windows xp wasn't stolen if reading that gave you the impression.)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP