Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

self rebooting pc

• Please log in to reply

diverseo

diverseo

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
any ideas where to start looking for problem, i sitch pc on loads up win xp, logon icon appears, click on it it starts loading up but then restarts, i can start up in safe mode

Advertisements

h_mike

h_mike

• PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
Well I am not an expert - especially when it comes to stuff like self rebooting PCs, but I can't help but to try to help you. So here goes nothing, I went and googled "self rebooting pc". Yea, it's a problem for a lot of computer users. I have a feeling it may be a hardware problem, but then again - I could be sadly mistaken. Check this document I found:

Self Rebooting PC Problems

I really hope this solves your problem.

Edited by hayabusa_mike, 04 February 2007 - 03:52 AM.

diverseo

diverseo

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
Thanx, tried another psu, but still no joy, could this be linked with spayware, add ware or a virus???

h_mike

h_mike

• PipPipPip
  • 344 posts
Actually, I am not totally sure, but there are extremely high chances that it is related to Malware. Ok, I want you to forget about the Operating Systems section, and take this to the Malware Removal forums. If they cannot help you, then I want you to come back to this forum, and good-luck from here.

fleamailman

fleamailman

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,383 posts
hi, welcome to geekstogo
let me recap because not clear to me,