Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

confused about how to build my computer

• Please log in to reply

terrific

terrific

• Pip
  • 6 posts
hi frens,

I am going to buy a new PC. At present I have a BENQ LCD TFT monitor and i have to buy the CPU.
I am doing my masters at present.

My main requirement is browsing internet (at about 3mbps speed)

So for these what shuld be my CPU specifications:

Like processor type and speed

Hard disk capacity

RAM

As far as my knowledge I think P4 2.8Ghz ,512 MB RAM, 80 GB hard disk are sufficient. But some of my frens are saying that for browsing we dont need that much processor speed and a 2 Ghz processor will be sufficient.

frens plz help me take a decission

thanx a lot

bye

Advertisements

jrm20

jrm20

System building expert

• Retired Staff
  • 2,394 posts

hi frens,

I am going to buy a new PC. At present I have a BENQ LCD TFT monitor and i have to buy the CPU.
I am doing my masters at present.

My main requirement is browsing internet (at about 3mbps speed)

So for these what shuld be my CPU specifications:

Like processor type and speed

Hard disk capacity

RAM

As far as my knowledge I think P4 2.8Ghz ,512 MB RAM, 80 GB hard disk are sufficient. But some of my frens are saying that for browsing we dont need that much processor speed and a 2 Ghz processor will be sufficient.

frens plz help me take a decission

thanx a lot

bye