Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Can't install OS

• Please log in to reply

Old Goat

Old Goat

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello, all. I am a recording musician, and , in a fit of "[bleep], I can do that", I decided to build a new music 'puter. I bought a barebones unit from AVADirect. ASUS A8V-E SE mobo, Western Digital SATA HDDs (40 and 250G caviars) Radeon 9250 vid card, Athlon 64 2.0g CPU.

My problem is that I managed to get the thing to start booting twice, but didn't know that I had to load drivers for the SATA. Both times it quit after the 'to load drivers, press F6' prompt, saying 'no HDDs detected. Okay, I understand now, but now it won't boot. I get the beeps and the HDD LED flashes, then I get the ASUS screen, and I can change the boot sequence to cd-rom 1st, but then it jus sits there with a little flashing bar in the upper left of the screen. There's no floppy drive on the machine. I have tried resetting the bios. Can someone please help me? :whistling:

Advertisements

Kurenai

Kurenai

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 494 posts
In the BIOS, is it showing any hard disks on the SATA controller? I'm also guessing that both of your hard drives are Serial ATA, in which case you will need a floppy drive, to install the SATA drivers before you can install Windows to one of the drives.

Old Goat

Old Goat

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts