Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Simple upgrade

• Please log in to reply

Crunchy409

Crunchy409

• PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
Hi all-

I am a college and student and 2 years ago discovered the whole Dell 'special' power supply, etc. when I tried to upgrade my videocard, and the new card could not draw enough power. My warranty runs out in a couple months and I had some questions regarding upgrading:

MY ESSENTIAL QUESTIONS IS THIS: I simply want to upgrade my video card, but due to the reasons below, I cannot simply just do that.
I am happy with everything I have (monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers, 2 hard drives, sound card, Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.53GHz, all the basics) except my video card and maybe my memory (512mb)

THUS- What is the most economical way to get a computer (or modify mine) that has my specs (pentium 4, 2.53 ghz, radeon 9200se) or better with a better video card?

Some other ponderings...
1. Has anyone upgraded a gx260's power supply? Has anyone seen how to do this?
2. If the power supply is upgraded, will that risk burning out the motherboard? Should I also purchase a new motherboard?

Any input would be greatly appreciated! thank you kindly!!!!
~Matt

Advertisements

Doby

Doby

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,075 posts
Hi,

Is that a dell dimension and what model, I could not find any info on a gx260.

It seems strange to me that the card could not draw enough power could you explain more.

I can't comment to much on changing the psu till I look at the manual on dell's website(thats why I need model & number)