Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Extremely slow after new hardware install

• Please log in to reply

Aleema

Aleema

• Pip
  • 8 posts
I'm really hoping to get some help or tips on this ... because, as a college student, I really can't afford to pay a small fortune for repair.

My previous DVD+/-R-LightScribe drive called it quits a few days ago, so I bought a new drive very similar to it. I've installed lots of parts to computers before, but I fear I might've damaged or dislodged something on the motherboard this time. Upon booting my CPU up after install of the new drive, my computer has been impossibly slow! It takes 30 minutes for the computer to complete the startup process and even then, I'm at 100% CPU usage. I've managed to run an array of antivirius/antispyware programs, just to dispell the idea that many will have that it's a software issue. I honestly believe it's a hardware/system configuartion issue which is why I really need help.

I replaced the master of 2 cdrom drives, though the jumpers for both are set to "cable select". And they should both be set to "DMA if possible." I have a 500w power supply and I did not upgrade my hardware, just replaced it, so power should not be a problem. All functions of the computer work fine, it's just VERY slow. The RAM and other features/plugs all appear to be snug in their places. I have more than enough space left on my harddrive and this slowness was immediately after installing the new hardware.