Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Lost CDRW and DVD drives

• Please log in to reply

Amigatu

Amigatu

• PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hello, a newbie here. I notcied that my CDRW and DVD drives are gone. I have a Dimension 8400 XP Home. I called Dell and ran thru trouble shoot with them. I checked device manager, drives are not there. I checked Bios, drives not there, I checked computer management, drives not there. These drives are completely gone from my computer. I opened the tower and unplugged the cable to drives, plugged them back in, no drives. Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do? I can;t even use Dell Resource disk with no CDRW drives. I am completely lost. Thanks for any help you can give. :whistling:

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Download and run CD Gone

http://www.geekstogo...a...ails&f_id=8

Amigatu

Amigatu

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hi Keith, that link will not download for me. After I agree, nothing happens. Thank you for your help.

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Can you get it here

http://www7.spread-i...86675023ba57dd0

Amigatu

Amigatu

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Thanks Keith that link worked but still no drives. This is driving me crazy. :whistling:

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
When you start the PC, do any lights flash on the drives

Have you installed / uninstalled anything recently