Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

short blue screen then shut down

• Please log in to reply

Teresa Tanner

Teresa Tanner

• PipPip
  • 36 posts
Hey guys i am new to this!! But I need help! I have a gateway laptop. MX6441. 2005. Windows xp. And iv been using it fine for 3 months. I have norton virus and spy sweeper on it so i dont htink i have a virus. Now my laptop froze so i turned it over and unlocked it and took the battery off then i put it back on thinking it woul drestart... because it useally does. nope not this time i get a black screen saying...
We apoligze for the inconvience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might of causes this. If your computer stopped rosponding, restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders choose last known good confiuration to revert to the most recent settings tha tworked. then you can either rebost windows normally or safe mode or go to good last configuaration. i do them all and it restarts shows a bright blue scren VERY shortly then starts up again and goes to the same black screen

Please do not include an e-mail address in any post as it could lead to more contact than you intended

Edited by Keith, 21 February 2007 - 08:13 AM.

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
This is an outside chance, do you have an XP CD