Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Shutdown after startup

• Please log in to reply

bo130

bo130

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi all - newbie here with some recent trouble that I hope someone could offer some insight on.

My newest (homebuilt) PC is now two years old, and up to about three months ago it operated flawlessly. Never an issue. Recently, however, the computer began to shut itself down shortly after startup reaches the point of having the desktop open.

The strange aspect to this problem is that once I hit the power button to turn the computer back on, the system loads up fine and there are no problems. I can use the computer for hours and it gives me no problems on any level.

The shutdown does not happen, however, if I have the computer turned off for a few hours and then come back to it and turn it back on again. This only happens if I have not used the computer for longer than say 10 hours (overnight and so forth).

I guess I am just concerned because while in a way I can deal with this problem (even though it's very annoying) I'm also worried about it potentially getting worse.

For those of you who want to know, I went in and checked to see if the computer is overheating and everything appears to be completely normal. That was the first thing that came to mind but that doesn't seem to be the source of the problem. I don't know if this relates at all to the hard drive being bad, or the memory or cpu being bad, but any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks!

Advertisements

austin_o

austin_o

Retired Staff