Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Installing a second hard drive

• Please log in to reply

Moose78

Moose78

• PipPip
  • 94 posts
I'm a newb to doing this sort of thing, and was wondering how hard it is and if any additional cables or anything like that is required.

Dell Dimension 4600

Advertisements

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
Generally, the cable has two connections, so that is not an issue, as long as you don't have other devices which take up the spots. For IDE, you can have two devices per channel and there are typically two channels. Sometimes, not sure with Dell, they put the two devices (disk and CD/DVD) on the same channel to save a little bit of money.

I have also seen with Dell that they include the drive slides in the computer, at least with some models. Many computers don't use a slide, so it is not an issue.

Typically it is pretty easy, although sometimes trying to get the case open can be the hardest thing to do.

One thing to consider, depending on what you are adding the second hard disk for, is whether to use an external disk or not. This allows you to remove the disk, if you don't need it all the time.

Moose78

Moose78

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
its an internal, and i have two cd drives(cd-rom and dvd-rom), do I just need to uninstall the cd-rom and use that ide cable??

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts