Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Dual Vista...


  • Please log in to reply

#1
zipster

zipster

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I recently purchased a new laptop that apparently came preloaded with Vista. When I first tried to start it up, I received an error of some kind, and not knowing anything about Vista, I assumed that it just wasn't installed. So I installed a fresh copy from the disc provided, and then started it up. Not long into the startup, it asked me to choose from two different copies of Windows Vista, so I chose one and started it up. One I had realized that I had two versions installed, I used the disk cleanup tool to remove the windows.old files that were taking up about 10GB of my hard drive. Thinking I would be good to go after that, I restarted only to find that it still asked me which of the two versions I wanted to run. I can only assume that there are some files leftover from the previous version. What I'm wondering is if there is a way to remove that, so that I do not have to choose when I startup, or if I can just set it so that it chooses the correct one without asking. It would be a great convenience if anyone knew the answer, but if not, then it's something I can live with. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
zipster.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
wannabe1

wannabe1

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi zipster...

Because Vista uses the BCD rather than the boot.ini, you'll need a third party BCD editing tool such as VistaBoot Pro to edit the old boot instructions out. Be sure to remove the right one and be double sure to back it up (the BCD) before you do the edit. You will be prompted to back up...just follow the prompts.

This tool is quite easy to use so you shouldn't have any problems.

wannabe1
  • 0

#3
zipster

zipster

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
It was very simple to use, and it starts up like a charm now. :whistling:

Thanks a lot for the help,
zipster
  • 0

#4
wannabe1

wannabe1

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 16,645 posts
You're very welcome... :whistling:
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP