Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Outlook Express error number 0x800CCC78

• Please log in to reply

Cris21

Cris21

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
I am trying to use Outlook Express through both yahoo and gmail, and have checked the internet and do believe i have everything set up right, but just keep getting the same error saying the server rejected the senders e-mail address every time i try to send a message. This is my first time ever using Outlook Express. I have also tried setting up Incredimail a while back, but never got it working either. I found a website that said to check run telnet and then type in o localhost 25. I did that and it said could not open connection to the host, on port 25 : Connect failed. Would anyone have any idea what the problem could be? Thanks so much to anyone that can help.

Advertisements

piper

piper

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,459 posts
Hi, Cris21. Welcome to Geeks to Go!

That error indicates an invalid address in the "Reply To" field. See Microsoft article 208814.

In OE, click Tools, Accounts, highlight your account and click Properties. Confirm the email addresses you've entered, especially in the "Reply To" field.

Cris21

Cris21

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
I have retyped my email address in all fields about 5 times and it still is not working. Thank you so much for your reply.

piper

piper

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,459 posts
Specifically in the "Reply To" field? What about deleting the email address from that field altogether and see if you get the same error.