Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer can't find c: drive

• Please log in to reply

Hopela

Hopela

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie here and my problem is as follows:

I have an old laptop (Compaq Presatio 1690) with a non-functioning cd-player. I wanted to reinstall the operating system on this computer (win98).
Without a functioning cd-player I can't use the restore-cd that came with the laptop.

So I thought I was being smart by taking the harddrive out of the laptop and connecting it directly to another computer (via USB from an 2.5 HDD storage box). That seemed to work since I now had access to the harddrive in question.

However, WinXP on the other computer won't let me install Win98 on the external drive (can only be done to the master drive or something). I tried to format the drive and then put win98 installation files in a folder on the hdd. My thought was that once it was in place in the laptop again I could from DOS go to the folder with win98 and start the install.exe from there. So I put it back in the Compaq laptop. When I start it it says "No operating system found". Ok. So I start it up with win98 startup floppy. Then it says it can't find a c: drive, and that's about where I'm now stuck.

I've tried to partition and format it with Paragon Partition Manager via the other computer, and everything seems to go ok, but everytime I put it back in the Compaq it just says it cant find the c: drive.

Can some kind soul here take pity on me and help me out?