Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows Method of Merging Partitions


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Denisejm

Denisejm

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
I had 3 partitions (C, D and E) on my hard drive and wanted to eliminate the 3rd one because it served no purpose and I needed more room in my 2nd partition. I thought that by eliminating the 3rd partition, it would open or give the memory to the 2nd partition but it didn't do that. It only made it inaccessible.

The solution:

Any data in the partitions will be lost when they're merged so it has to be saved somewhere else first.

Since my E drive was inaccessible because I had already deleted it. I saved the data that was in partition D to another drive.

The next step was to delete partition D.

The next step is to right click on one of the partitions and click on "Make Logical Drive." It'll tell you how much free memory is available on the drive, click "OK" and the two partitions are merged.

I now have 2 partitions that are accessible. My C partition remained intact since it wasn't involved. My D partition now contains all of the memory that was in both partitions.

I want to spread this information around as much as possible because it's the solution that Windows created and programs such as Partition Magic are making a fortune off of people not knowing it.

Denise

Edited by Denisejm, 25 March 2007 - 08:03 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Tyger

Tyger

    Member 2k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,896 posts
Just to caution that this can only be used to merge partitions starting from the back forward and can't be used to merge the C: drive with other drives without destroying the operating system.
  • 0

#3
Denisejm

Denisejm

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
That was the reason I stated

I saved the data that was in partition D to another drive.


and

I now have 2 partitions that are accessible. My C partition remained intact since it wasn't involved. My D partition now contains all of the memory that was in both partitions.


But it was good to mention it again.

Denise
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP