Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Sluggish Network

• Please log in to reply

jester620

jester620

• PipPipPip
  • 150 posts
Hey guys,

We have a frustrating problem. I'm a learning-as-I-go Network Admin at our small office. We are on a good DSL connection. (~5 Mbps) However, we are experiencing extreme fluctuations in our network speeds.

Our setup:

DSL Modem (Speedstream 5100) > Linksys Router (BEFSR41) > Encore 8-port Hub (ENH908-NWY) > 5 Desktops (Dell Dimensions Cat5 Wired)

These computers are all identical. As you can see from the speedtest results, their DL speeds are sporatic!

Here are 4 of the 5 computer internet speed tests (by Speedtest.net)

Comp 1 : Posted Image
Comp 2 : Posted Image
Comp 4 : Posted Image
Comp 5 : Posted Image

I know you are working blind on this issue, so let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks,

Edited by jester620, 10 April 2007 - 08:51 AM.

Advertisements

SpaceCowboy706

SpaceCowboy706

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,175 posts
Hello jester620 and welcome to G2G,

Have you tried isolating where the pc's are slowing down at....

Move as many of the pc's as you can to just the linksys router (without the encore hub connected) and check speeds

Move as many of the pc's as you can to just the encore hub (without the Linksys router connected) and check speeds

Move each pc directly to the modem one by one (without the linksys router and encore hub connected) checking speeds