Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My Computer is Blowing Up in Slow Motion

• Please log in to reply

eireland

eireland

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, I have very little useful computer knowledge, but let me try to describe my problem as best I can. I have had Norton on my computer since I've gotten it and over the last year and a half, their GoBack program kept restarting my computer every few weeks and changing things. I thought it was a bad program, but maybe it was doing the right thing. Anyway I got tired of it and wanted to get rid of norton and put Kaspersky and Zone alarm on my computer. I uninstalled norton and added kaspersky and zone alarm. Upon restarting, I got this stop error code Bad_Pool_Caller 0x0000007b. Ok so I went into safe mode and removed kaspersky and zone alarm. This seemed to solve the problem as I was able to boot into xp successfully after that. However, I had no antivirus at all. Figuring that norton still had some junk on my computer I used the norton removal tool and then reinstalled kaspersky and zone alarm. This is where things went really bad. Now I can only boot into safemode. When I try to boot normally it gets all the way to loading tray icons then I always get this stop error: 0x0000008E (OxC0000005, 0x80576F26, 0xEBC6996c, 0x00000000 There is no other useful info with the message (for me anyway) The third string of characters in parenthesis always changes.
What I've tried:
restarting with last known good configuration
restarting with system restore on various date