Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

can't install windows


  • Please log in to reply

#1
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
HI! I'm trying to reformat my hard drive. I put in my OEM disc, (Win XP) reboot and go through the steps. However, when I get to the point of deleting the C: drive, it says that there are files on it that are needed for Windows installation and therefore cannot delete the space, which means I therefore can't reformat nor reinstall windows.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Edited by bufalo, 10 June 2007 - 08:54 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Dwight

Dwight

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 480 posts
Hi bufalo. Make sure you back up all important files.
Take a look at this, is this the way you are doing it?

http://www.geekstogo...CD-t101068.html

Dwight

Edited by Dwight, 10 June 2007 - 10:13 PM.

  • 0

#3
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks for responding,
that link describes what I am doing, however the first time I tried it, it said somehting about checking the net for a newer installer or something. I did and I guessit saved it on my C drive, now it won't let me delete C because the installer is there (???????
  • 0

#4
Dwight

Dwight

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 480 posts
Hi bufalo. I'm not sure why you got that? I would start all over again
from the start.

http://www.geekstogo...CD-t101068.html

Dwight
  • 0

#5
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks, but it won't let me. Windows downloaded some new installation files onto my system. Now it says it cannot delete the C: drive because it needs those files for installation. I've tried it several times.

The only thing I can think of is to find (I looked and can't find them) those temp files and delete them or try the route of C: format, which I don't know how to do. I've searched the net, but keep coming up with the new easier way to format. That'd be great, but it isn't working for me.
  • 0

#6
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
get DBAN HERE...look in the bios and set the boot order to A: (floppy ) first...then the cd drive...and then the hard drive ( C: )boot with it in the cd drive or floppy drive if you go that route..it will erase the drive and you can start all over with the install...if you don't have a .ISO burning software go here and get burncdcc...its a small fast no frills .ISO burner...

Edited by happyrck, 12 June 2007 - 08:44 AM.

  • 0

#7
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks, I'll be doing that. One question though, I have seen a lot of postings about reformating using a boot disk, but they all talk about A drive, or floppies. I have a laptop with only a CD burner/reader. This should be ok, right?
  • 0

#8
Troy

Troy

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 8,839 posts
Yes this is okay. If you re-read happyrck's last post, and just *not* read anything about floppies, you'll get by fine.

Recapping on happyrck's steps to take:

1. Download DBAN and burn the resulting .iso to a cd. You can use this program. Here is some simple instructions for this. After completing this step, you should have a bootable cd with the boot and nuke program on it.

2. When your computer first starts, enter the BIOS and ensure that your boot order is set so that your cd/dvd drive is before your hard drive. That way, when your computer is starting, if you have a bootable cd in the drive, it will boot off that. If it doesn't find a bootable cd, it simply goes to the next step (your hard drive). I'm pretty sure this is fine, though, as this is what needs to happen to try and start the process with your XP (oem) cd in the first place, but double check it to be sure...

3. Start your computer with the bootable cd from step 1 in the drive and nuke your hard drive! This will delete everything on it, so make sure this is what you want to do...

4. Then you should be able to start your computer with the oem XP cd and start again. My guess is, this time, don't allow it to check the net first. Just disconnect your computer completely, let it do it's thing, and then once everything's up and running you can just use windows update to get everything up to scratch. Make sure you have an Anti-Virus installed before going online again (and a firewall if your oem cd does not include SP2).

Cheers, let us know how you go! :whistling:
  • 0

#9
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks! That's exaclty what I did. Everything worked sort of o.k

Here's the odd thing - I used the number on the sticker on my laptop when I installed Windows - it said it wasn't legit! I tried several times and nothing. So I used the number my friend gave me and windows installed, but when it tries to do the validation update, it says it isn't legit. I'd like to use my number and have no problems, but Windows says "no". No clue what to do , but I'll be trying....
  • 0

#10
wannabe1

wannabe1

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi bufalo...

When you installed using the recovery set, your key was reset to the OEM number the manufacturer used when the operating system was originally installed. This is NOT the same number that is on the COA sticker on the machine...hence your problem. I don't know why these manufacturers do it this way, but they do.

Activate by phone and tell the representative exactly what you've done. They should have no problems in activating your Windows given the circumstances. You may not even get to the rep...it may just activate once you've called for the new registration number.

wannabe1
  • 0

#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

Hi bufalo...

When you installed using the recovery set, your key was reset to the OEM number the manufacturer used when the operating system was originally installed. This is NOT the same number that is on the COA sticker on the machine...hence your problem. I don't know why these manufacturers do it this way, but they do.

Activate by phone and tell the representative exactly what you've done. They should have no problems in activating your Windows given the circumstances. You may not even get to the rep...it may just activate once you've called for the new registration number.

wannabe1


yep...its a PITA...takes about 10 minutes to jump thru the hoops...I've had to do this many times....
heres a workaround for it...
Self-reactivation of Windows XP

If you haven't backed up your Windows XP system, or haven't created a master image that you can restore in the event of an irrecoverable system failure, and you haven't made any changes to the hardware that would invalidate the old activation code and make it necessary to reactivate Windows XP, you can store the two files that contain the Windows Product Activation (WPA) data on a floppy disk, and copy them to the system after reinstalling Windows so that no activation is required from Microsoft's site or by telephone.

The two files are called Wpa.dbl and Wpa.bak. And they're located in the C:\Windows\system32 folder (if Windows is installed to its default Windows folder and not to a folder with a different name of the user's choosing).

You should reinstall Windows XP. During the process, you should refuse the option to "Activate now". You should then restart the computer and press the F8 key to bring up the Advanced Boot Options menu, and then choose to boot into Minimal Safe Mode. You can then open My Computer, click on the A: drive and copy the two files on the floppy disk to the C:\Windows\system32 folder.

Note well that you should not do this if you have made changes to the system's hardware that would require Windows XP to be reactivated on the web or by obtaining the new code from Microsoft over the telephone.

The two files contain a description of the system's hardware and the activation code that Microsoft generated from its site or provided by telephone, both of which are encrypted. At each system startup, Windows XP decrypts (unencrypts) the description and checks to make sure that the hardware matches the recorded description. The details that are recorded include the serial numbers of the hard disk drive(s), and the MAC address that every Ethernet network card has. A user therefore cannot copy the two activation files from a system that has the same hardware, because although the make and models of the hardware are the same, the identification numbers are different.

A newly installed copy of Windows XP allows its user to activate it automatically from Microsoft's site without having to obtain the activation code from Microsoft over the telephone. But if you attempt to reactivate the same copy of Windows XP within 120 days, you have to obtain the activation code over the telephone.

To do that you need to know what the Windows XP product key (also known as the CD key) is. It should be recorded on the licence sticker that is provided with with the Windows CD, which its user is supposed to stick on the computer's case. If this has been lost then get everest home here...and click on operating system...find the key code and wtite it down EXACTLY AS SHOWN

Edited by happyrck, 13 June 2007 - 06:46 AM.

  • 0

#12
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
Thanks so much! I'll be working on this.
  • 0

#13
bufalo

bufalo

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
I had posted this the other day, but I guess it never got here. Thanks so much for the info I am trying out everything. However, I looked for those files and have only one of them: wpa.dbl

The other isn't there, but the is one called: "wpabaln" no dots in it at all, the symbol is of a key. I think it is the windows activation reminder.
  • 0

#14
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
you need to get windows registered first...those files will be there AFTER you get the fresh install registered...then save them so if you ever have to reinstall you don't have to reregister
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP