Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Trouble creating a partition

• Please log in to reply

Ima Noob

Ima Noob

• Pip
  • 3 posts
To be blunt... I'm a tech idiot... I know some of the basics, but that's about it. Now I'm going insane trying to reformat my computer for the first time. To compound my confusion, I just did a full, "clean" install of Vista over top of XP; however, it wasn't quite as clean as I thought it would be.

So now I am trying to partition my drive. At the moment my hard drive is reading 68.3GB free out of 76.6GB and when I attempt to shrink the c: I am limited to shrinking it by only 6GB.

This is the first time I have attempted to reformat a hard drive and I've been wading through webpage after webpage to walk myself through it. After some more searching however I am truely stumped on this one.

Is this 6GB limit normal? Is it a bug? Would it be better to use specialty software to assist in the partitioning?

Any help for this tech illiterate noob would be much appreciated.

ps: Any advise or detailed guides on the actual formatting procedure is always welcome as well.

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
Hi there Ima Noob, I love that name! Welcome to Geeks to Go, lets sort out these partition questions for you.

I just did a full, "clean" install of Vista over top of XP; however, it wasn't quite as clean as I thought it would be