Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows Blue Screen of Death Problem


  • Please log in to reply

#1
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hi! I know there is a pinned thread about these types of errors, and I have read it. But I'm still not quite sure what to do. It occurs about once a day, and this is what shows up:

Problem report summary

Problem type
Windows stop error (a message appears on a blue screen with error code information)

Solution available?
No

What does this problem mean?
Windows has encountered a problem it cannot recover from and it needs to be restarted

Cause
Unknown

Computer symptoms
A message appears on a blue screen with error code information (for example: 0x0000001E, KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED)

Additional steps for you to take
Please continue to send problem reports so analysts at Microsoft can study and try to correct the problem as quickly as possible




Also, these files seemed to be associated with it (Possibly the problem?):
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER27bc.dir00\Mini061607-01.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER27bc.dir00\sysdata.xml

I believe those files are the problem, but should I delete them? What to do? And thank you for any help in advance, because I really appreciate it.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
zbd

zbd

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 271 posts
The error code described.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/275678
  • 0

#3
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

Also, these files seemed to be associated with it (Possibly the problem?):
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER27bc.dir00\Mini061607-01.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER27bc.dir00\sysdata.xml

I believe those files are the problem, but should I delete them?

yep
reboot....if the problem continues ...look in the event viewer and tell us any red errors you find...look in system first...

Edited by happyrck, 16 June 2007 - 09:22 AM.

  • 0

#4
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
I've deleted the files, but they keep coming back! I don't know how to get rid of it. What do you mean by look in the event viewer and into the system? I tracked down where these files were, and there's a folder called "WER1920.dir00" containing three files, a text file titled "manifest", and the other two files. I deleted the three files and folder using a file shredder which should have obliterated it. Here is what's located inside the text file titled "manifest":


Server=watson.microsoft.com
UI LCID=1033
Flags=1696080
Brand=WINDOWS
TitleName=Microsoft Windows
DigPidRegPath=HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\DigitalProductId
ErrorText=A log of this error has been created.
HeaderText=The system has recovered from a serious error.
Stage2URL=
Stage2URL=/dw/bluetwo.asp?BCCode=100000d1&BCP1=E0001000&BCP2=00000002&BCP3=00000000&BCP4=AA6F0EC9&OSVer=5_1_2600&SP=2_0&Product=768_1
DataFiles=C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER1920.dir00\Mini061707-02.dmp|C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER1920.dir00\sysdata.xml
ErrorSubPath=blue
DirectoryDelete=C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER1920.dir00




And these are the files always being reported.
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER1920.dir00\Mini061707-02.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\MYCHIH~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER1920.dir00\sysdata.xml


How do I get rid of these? It keeps coming back no matter how many time's I've deleted it! Is it some type of corrupted file or virus?
  • 0

#5
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
click on START...CONTROL PANEL...ADMINISTATIVE TOOLS...EVENT VIEWER...then click on system...look for any red errors...same in applications...report what you find...
  • 0

#6
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Okay, under system, here are the following errors:

Warnings about:
TCPIP and DHCP
User32
PlugPlayManager


Errors With:
SideBySide
W32Time
Service Control Manager- A lot of errors with this one
Dnscache
DHCP
System Error
DCOM


Under Applications:
Application Error- Mostly these
Crypt32
MsiInstaller
.NET Runtime

Thanks for your help!
  • 0

#7
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try this..

if you are NOT networked with other computers
go here and get DCOMbobulator...its about the 5th one down...
after you have dowloaded it click on the red circle...then the DCOMbobulate me tab..then disable DCOM
this is supposed to have been fixed with XP SP 2 ..you do have all the updates for windows don't you...
  • 0

#8
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hello! Thanks for your timely response. I am networked with other computers. Well, my computer as well as my sister's laptop are connected to the same router, so I don't know if that has any effects on it. I download all the updates for windows everytime something new is out there. I also have XP SP2. So should I continue to download and try? Thanks for your response once again!
  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
no...you need dcom if your networked....

To clean your temp folder, recycle bin, etc..please download this free tool...

CCleaner

Don't install any Toolbars, or other programs, should it ask you!Just
uncheck the option of installing the Yahoo toolbar....if you get
the slim version it does not have the toolbar
thats the one I recommend...

It will put a shortcut on your Desktop.


Before first use...
Select Options then Advanced.
UNCHECK "Only delete files in Windows Temp folder older than 48 hours"
The rest of the standard settings are fine...

Click on CCleaner to start it. Then click "Run Cleaner"

DO NOT USE ANY OF THE OTHER TOOLS...RUNNING THEM MAY CAUSE OTHER PROBLEMS

those errors are all over the board

does this happen everytime when you are running something in particular or randomly....
  • 0

#10
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
No, I'll be sitting there, doing different things, nothing overloading at all on the computer. Then bluescreen for 2 seconds, and reboot. Is there something wrong with my temp folder? I normally clean everything up using the program CleanUp! I'll do what you say and hopefully it won't come back.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Windows XP is set by default to reboot your computer when it hits a critical error. For most users I suppose this is a good thing, as no one likes to see the BSOD (blue screen of death). But in this case, we actually WANT to see the BSOD because it contains some useful information in diagnosing the problem. In order to force your computer to show you the BSOD, need to tell it to stop auto restarting on critical errors.

Right-click...My Computer... and then click ...Properties...
Click the ..Advanced tab...
Under Startup and Recovery.. click ..Settings... to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box....
Clear the ..Automatically restart.. check box, and click OK the necessary number of times...

Restart your computer for the settings to take effect....

lets also make sure its not a heat or voltage issue...

go here and get everest home...
install and launch it...click the + by computer...click on sensor...
get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

I normally clean everything up using the program CleanUp!

I'm not familiar with that program...
  • 0

#12
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
CleanUp! just empties out temporary files and what not. But here's a screenshot you requested:

Posted Image

Hopefully that's normal?
  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
the screenshot didn't make it ...after you try to upload it...wait until you see "done"....you may have to crop it to make it smaller
  • 0

#14
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Hmm...it seems to be showing up for me. But here's the link to it: Image

But I think my problem has gone away, since it has not occured for the past couple of days, so it might be gone? If so, thanks so much with the help! You guys are the best. :whistling:
  • 0

#15
darkshadow1227

darkshadow1227

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
Just kidding. It still is happening. I applied the settings you said, but for some reason, it still automatically restarted. I reapplied the settings, so it shouldn't restart if it happens again. If it does happen, what should I do? Take down the information it says? Also, there's no way I could possibly delete those two files so the problem can go away? Thanks for the help again!
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP