Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help to recover 2 years of work...

• Please log in to reply

Zaine7673

Zaine7673

• PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
hey guys,
hope all is good with everyone. :whistling:

I have an external hard drive which i have been using for almost 2 years now. Its attached to my laptop. Normally i back up my data to the desktop hard drive but recently i have been abroad and haven't had the chance to back anything up.

I came back and found that the external hard drive which once used to work fine started to make a distinctive clicking sound. First, I thought it might be the case making the noise... 2 days later the HDD is not even coming up on the computer. I switch it on and the computer recognizes that there is a usb device attched but the HDD doesnt come up under my computer.

It is very important for me to recover the data that was on it. Its my life's work so i would appreciate any help... :blink:

thank you.

Advertisements

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts
UHOH! Bad news, if you don't have another copy of that data, then things don't look good. This happened to me once (except with my only computer hard disk) and I lost everything. The ticking was a mechanical failure, and the hard drive was done. No SMART warnings or anything. I wasn't happy. :whistling:

You might be able to get a professional data recovery company to get it back, not sure how much it costs where you are, I couldn't afford it myself at the time...