Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Noob - Need some help building a new computer - several questions

• Please log in to reply

kitaeren

kitaeren

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Okay, so I'm a complete noob at this.

This is what I'm chosen for my computer:

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Clock Speed 3.00GHz FSB 1333 L2 Cache 4MB (This chip comes out on July 22nd according to what I've read on the internet).

(2x) EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card

OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply

(2x) CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4

(2x) SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

LITE-ON 20X DVD+-R DVD Burner with 12X DVD-RAM write and LightScribe Technology Black E-IDE/ATAPI Model LH-20AIH-185 - OEM

Gateway FPD2485W Black 24" LCD Monitor (24", 1920x1200, 6ms, DVI, PC Mac)

So, I'll have 2 768MB video cards (SLI), 4GB of RAM. and 1 terabyte of total storage. I plan on running this on Windows XP.

I had a couple of questions:

1. Is there an after market cooler that I should be getting for the E6850? If so, will it fit in the case that I chose above? Or should I just stick with whatever comes with the CPU in the box?

2. Will the above set up completely fit in the above case?