Free help from tech experts
Welcome to Geeks to Go forums. Create a FREE account now to gain access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing topics, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. Best of all, registration and all assistance is 100% free! This message, and all ads will be removed once you sign in.
Create an Account Login to Account

How to disable wireless when Ethernet plugged in

• Please log in to reply

HLTCOM

HLTCOM

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I am an IT manager who is hoping someone can shed some light on an obstacle we're trying to overcome.

Here's my situation . . .

My company HQ recently put in a wireless infrastructure to boost cel reception in the building but it also has the capability to be a wireless LAN.

The idea is to set up the LAN like a giant Starbucks with access to everyone but in no way shape or form is to be connected to our corporate network for several security and common sense reasons.

Now the issue that's arising is that when we're using wireless connectivity on a Dell D600 let's say (built in cards running WinXP), and then switch back to cable/LAN (going back to office/cube and plugging into our LAN via ethernet cable) both connections are live and bridging, and that's bad.

Now if a laptop user goes back to their desk and puts the machine in the docking station, we're okay, because we can change a setting in device manager to disable wireless when in the docking station. But if a user is not connected to any docking station, and just takes a cable and plugs in while the wireless card is live, both connection remain live.

Finally, here's my question . . .