Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Inspiron 1000 running way too hot

• Please log in to reply

Divine1

Divine1

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
I have a Dell Inspiron 1000 that runs hot continuously. In fact I have had to change my ac adaptor 3 times bcuz they keep melting and at times the notebook shuts down bcuz its too hot. Please advise what I can do about this (is it relevant that the CPU seems to run at 100% as well?). Thanks a lot

Advertisements

GregMiller

GregMiller

• PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
I'm no expert. Heck, I'm on here looking for solutions to my problems.

But I think this is a good question for Dell support- is it still undr warranty? This shouldn't happen.

My daughter's Dell laptop runs hot so we bought one of those USB plug in fan decks for underneath but your problem sounds way beyond that.

Sounds like you have a lemmon on your hands.

Like I said, I'm just a guy on the street but I think even Dell would be upset if they knew their machine is melting charging equipment.

I hope you don't 1) leave it on unattended on your bed or 2) leave it on for long periods of time.

Soulds like a fire waiting to happen.

Divine1

Divine1

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Greg thanks for your input. I found out that the notebook runs hot because the CPU was constantly at 100% because of 'SVCHOST.EXE' . I googled it and I found forums where it was suggested that a flaw in 'Microsoft Update' causes the problem and it was suggested to uninstall Microsoft Update (but leave Windows Update). I did that and so far I have been fine.