Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

1st time build! please critique!

• Please log in to reply

onedoller

onedoller

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hi. This is my first time building, and I am just wondering if there is anything I could do better or if there are any problems. Here is the list,

Mobo

processor

case

hard drive

power supply

Heat sink/fan

graphics card

cd/dvd

RAM

Thanks.

P.S. My hardrive uses a SATA connector, even though my mother board has SATA connectors will I still need a SATA controller card?

Advertisements

SOORENA

SOORENA

• PipPipPip
  • 974 posts
Hi,

It seems like your going with an old socket Mobo and system. I would like to know your budget so I can update your build to an AM2 instead of a 939 socket system. I would recommend going with intel because their prices just went down some more.

Soorena

Edited by SOORENA, 12 August 2007 - 07:28 PM.

onedoller

onedoller

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
My budget is pretty low. I am trying to keep it under or around $500, which is why I picket the socket 939 and mobo because they were cheap. Just curious is intel really better the AMD? Thanks!

Edited by onedoller, 12 August 2007 - 08:11 PM.

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts

P.S. My hardrive uses a SATA connector, even though my mother board has SATA connectors will I still need a SATA controller card?

NO

Hi there onedoller, I agree with SOORENA there, we should at least upgrade this to the AM2 socket (processor) and a motherboard that supports AM2 processors and DDR2 RAM.