Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hard Drive size

• Please log in to reply

computer_idiot

computer_idiot

• PipPip
  • 86 posts
Hi,
I am new to doing my own repairs. Anyway, I installed a hard drive on my computer, it seemed like it was used so I reformatted it. Thought I did it right, but when I look at the hard drive in my computer it says 127 GB but my label on the Hard drive says 160 GB. It is a western Digital. Am I missing something here or did I reformat wrong?
Thanks,
Samantha

Advertisements

peter99

peter99

• PipPipPip
  • 283 posts
Sounds to me that the partition is not using the whole drive

You could delete the partition and then recreate a new one using the whole drive or create a extended partition to use the rest of the drive

See http://www.compu-docs.com/Fdisk.htm how to use Fdisk

Fdisk does have limitations

Personally I use PQ Magic

Once partitioned and formatted it will come out as aprox 156gig due to the manufactures using a different calculation of megabytes. I think its 1024 = 1 megabyte

Or put it in a computer which has XP on and use the Disk management

Edited by peter99, 17 August 2007 - 07:01 AM.

computer_idiot

computer_idiot

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
Hi,
Thank you for responding. You said put it on a computer that has xp, this computer does, do I do it on this one? I can't find what you are talking about.
Thanks,
Samantha

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts