Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Adding second HDD

• Please log in to reply

Danstar10

Danstar10

• PipPip
  • 39 posts
Hi guys,
After a little advice here. Im trying to add a second HDD to an old computer running XP. Basically it already has a 10GB HDD and is pretty much maxed out.

I have an old HDD ('Maxator DiamondMax Plus 8' 30GB ATA/133) and i want to add it to the computer. i have some basic knowledge, but have not added a HDD before.

Firstly, on the HDD it says to turn it into a slave HDD i should use two 'pin things', could this be correct? or is it suggesting i use one or the other locations for it? the pic attached shows what i mean...

Once that is sorted, i connect it and turn the comp on - what will i expect to happen? Basically i have no software for it etc so will windows be able to configure it itself? Do i need to make any backup discs etc?

Cheers all

Attached Thumbnails

• DSC00459.jpg

Advertisements

Samm

Samm

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,476 posts
Hi there

Basically, the picture is correct - i.e you need to place 2 plastic caps across the top, in the positions indicated on the sticker in order to make it a slave.

After that, when you added the drive into the case, make sure you connect it to the middle connector on the IDE ribbon cable, with the master (10GB) drive on the end connector.