Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

please help remove Wireless connection


  • Please log in to reply

#1
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
i was messing around in Control panel and i clicked Wireless network setup wizard and im pretty sure i accidentally made a wireless connection because when i now click on Wireless network setup wizard it says


What do you want to do?

select a task:


Set up a new wireless network


Add new computers or devices to the 'name of the network' network



does someone know how to remove the wireless network?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
No you have not set up a wireless connection
The wizard is asking if you want to, thats all.
Cheers
Peterm
  • 0

#3
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

No you have not set up a wireless connection
The wizard is asking if you want to, thats all.
Cheers
Peterm


ok thanks, also yesterday i was trying to find a way to remove what i thought was a created wireless network
and clicked on Network Setup Wizard and i accidentally made a Workgroup, what is that? Can other computers hack into my computer because i did that? is there a way to delete the workgroup?
  • 0

#4
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
I would not bother trying to remove it. - more hassle then needed
Workgroup is the default name for an internal network, your computer is as safe as before you started to play.
Cheers
peterm

Edited by peterm, 30 September 2007 - 09:14 PM.

  • 0

#5
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

I would not bother trying to remove it. - more hassle then needed
Workgroup is the default name for an internal network, your computer is as safe as before you started to play.
Cheers
peterm


So i shouldn't worry right? alright thanks
  • 0

#6
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Hey can you please just tell me how to delete the Workgroup so i wouldn't have to be so paranoid about it?
  • 0

#7
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
The easy way is to do a system restore
Click on start>all programes>accessories>system tools>System restore choose restore my computer to an earlier time click next then choose a date in bold previous to when you started to play.
You will not loose any current data (read the 1st screen when restore starts)

Hey can you please just tell me how to delete the Workgroup so i wouldn't have to be so paranoid about it?


If things like this make you nervous then may I suggest you do not play.
Not trying to be rude but playing can do 1 of 2 things
1) Teach you a lot
2) Cause you to have trouble.

If you take option 1 then like all of us it can be learning the hardway and it is possible to ruin your system or loose data.
Those of us who do play know this and take steps to minimise the risk
Cheers
Peterm
  • 0

#8
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

The easy way is to do a system restore
Click on start>all programes>accessories>system tools>System restore choose restore my computer to an earlier time click next then choose a date in bold previous to when you started to play.
You will not loose any current data (read the 1st screen when restore starts)

Hey can you please just tell me how to delete the Workgroup so i wouldn't have to be so paranoid about it?


If things like this make you nervous then may I suggest you do not play.
Not trying to be rude but playing can do 1 of 2 things
1) Teach you a lot
2) Cause you to have trouble.

If you take option 1 then like all of us it can be learning the hardway and it is possible to ruin your system or loose data.
Those of us who do play know this and take steps to minimise the risk
Cheers
Peterm




i can't do a System restore because i did a HP System Recovery (which Reformats my computer) on my computer because i thought it could delete the workgroup but i think it just changed the Workgroup to its default name which is MSHOME
  • 0

#9
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
I have a question, if another computer for whatever reason got on my Workgroup and tried to upload or download my files will Zonealarm be able to protect my computer against them or will they be able to bypass Zonealarm?
  • 0

#10
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
is this in a work or a home are that you talking about ?
If at home it does not matter if it is called workgroup.
As I tried to explain there is nothing to worry about just because it is called workgroup - It can be called
toilet it does not matter it is just a name
Right click on my computer
click on properties
clic on computername tab
click on change
put in any name you feel safe about click ok
then exit out.

Edited by peterm, 04 October 2007 - 04:16 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts

is this in a work or a home are that you talking about ?
If at home it does not matter if it is called workgroup.
As I tried to explain there is nothing to worry about just because it is called workgroup - It can be called
toilet it does not matter it is just a name
Right click on my computer
click on properties
clic on computername tab
click on change
put in any name you feel safe about click ok
then exit out.


Wait are all Windows XP Computers by default part of a Workgroup?
About.com about Workgroups

i thought i installed the program Workgroup when i clicked on Network Setup Wizard
oh and its at home.
  • 0

#12
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Oh by installed i meant i thought i turned on the application/program Workgroup
  • 0

#13
peterm

peterm

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 3,173 posts
Ok Workgroup is the default name for all previous os
XP was changed to mshome ( why? no one knows) Vista has reverted back to workgroup.
It is only a name not a program. It can be any name you like it is for mailnly setting up internal networks
You have not changed anything for internet access In OR out.
Cheers
Peterm
  • 0

#14
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Posted Image


So what i circled is not a program/application? its just a name?
  • 0

#15
computernoob8765

computernoob8765

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
oops i couldn't put the image

here

Image
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP