Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Internet Problems, something about ports...

• Please log in to reply

XPforever

XPforever

• Pip
  • 2 posts
ok i really need help with this, i am a newbie to this site.
ok a few months ago i got a virus. i did an xp repair
i reinstalled windoes, the virus was gone, but all my program files were there.
when my sbc yahoo cd tested the connection, it didnt find one. i use GB lan port thingy.
it worked before i got the virus. somehow it screwed my internet settings.
i went to the port menu thing and i uninstalled and reinstalled port 2 and 3 and they have an error saying
the device cannot start. it seems the repair didnt completely repair...
i also heard you need LPT1 to get an internet connection going. i use SBC yahoo DSL.
i really really need my internet back so help ASAP. i need the fastest and easiest way of fixing this.
i am willingto do a restore to factory settings too.

Edited by XPforever, 01 October 2007 - 01:50 PM.

Advertisements

WinCrazy

WinCrazy

• PipPipPip
  • 324 posts
Hi XPforever.

There is usually no "quick fix" to be had. You have to figure out for yourself what is wrong.

Apparently you did a XP "Repair Install". This reinstalls some of XP's files but leaves the Registry, user settings, your added files and installed programs untouched. The repair install did not make your internet connection go away - the infection did.