Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Does Windows network really slow?

• Please log in to reply

narquam

narquam

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I'm a computer expert but I've been struggling with finding a solution to this for months. My network is really slow. It's a gigabit network and sometimes it can take hours to transfer a gig worth of data, depending on my traffic. You might wonder why I didn't put this under network. I believe this is a Windows problem and not something wrong with my network.

I have Windows XP (can't stand Vista) on two PCs and a laptop. They are all fast machines and all up to date. They have no malware, viruses, or adware. I'm 100% sure of this. Two of these systems have Gigabit LAN cards all using static IPs. My router is a D-Link DIR 655. It's a gigabit draft N router. First off, draft N does not run any faster than G. At least not with any of my XP systems. I set up two systems and my network to give me an accurate speed of transfer. The fastest speed reported was 10mbps. Now this is a transfer through a full gigabit network with no other traffic. I get better transfer through firewire and USB2.0.