Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

where do items go after deleted from recycle bin


  • Please log in to reply

#1
stwain

stwain

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
hi

i was just wondering after you delete something and it goes to the recycle bin, then u go to the recycle bin and delete it there, where does the item go after that? is it completely erased? how can i get it completely off my computer?

thanks alot :tazz:

-Stwain
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
gerryf

gerryf

    Retired Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
When you delete it from the recycle bin, you are really only deleting the pointer to the file...the file actually remains on the drive and can sometimes be recovered.

There are various programs that can do this....plus there are various programs that can truly and deeply shred the file address (for lack of a better word) and the actual clusters the data reside in. Even these can be sometimes recovered, depending on how hard you want to work at it.

Here's one:

http://www.heidi.ie/eraser/

there are many others
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP